Tax Expenditure Review Commission

House Members

Rep. Esther Agbaje, Vice Chair

Rep. Greg Davids Rep. Steve Elkins

Rep. Aisha Gomez, ex-officio

Rep. Jim Joy

Senate Members

Sen. Steve Drazkowski

Sen. Matt Klein Sen. Ann Rest, Chair

Sen. Bill Weber

Executive Branch Member

Commissioner Paul Marquart

Thursday, January 25, 2024

2:00 p.m.

Hybrid meeting held in Capitol G-15 and remotely via Zoom (livestreamed on the LBO YouTube channel)

Agenda

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Review and approve November 30, 2023, meeting minutes
- 3. Presentation of tax expenditure evaluation methods
 - a. LBO presents on general process and outputs that result from tax expenditure evaluations
- 4. Presentation and discussion of selected tax expenditures
 - a. LBO presents on the following tax expenditures:
 - i. Marriage Credit Minn. Stat. § 290.0675 (TEB 1.84)
 - ii. Employer Transit Pass Credit Minn. Stat. § 290.06, subd. 28 (TEB 1.87 and 2.28)
 - iii. Solar Energy System Exemption Minn. Stat. § 297A.67, subd. 29 (TEB 4.27)
 - iv. Credit for Small Brewers Minn. Stat. § 297G.04, subd. 2 (TEB 7.07)
 - v. Open Space Property Minn. Stat. § 273.112 (TEB 13.06)
 - vi. Data Center Equipment Minn. Stat. § 297A.68, subd.42 (TEB 4.72)
 - b. Commission discusses and makes determination regarding evaluation of tax expenditures presented
- 5. Future meeting topics
- 6. Adjourn

DOCUMENTS: Meeting documents may be found on the <u>Tax Expenditure Review Commission meeting</u> webpage.

VIEW COMMISSION MEETING: Meetings may be viewed on the LBO YouTube channel.

ACCESSIBILITY: To provide feedback on digital accessibility of meeting information, please submit comments through the MN Legislature Accessibility & Usability Comment Form. If you require an accommodation, please contact Kathryn.Ho@lbo.mn.gov or by leaving a message at 651-297-7146. To learn more about requesting an accommodation, please visit the FAQs for Disability Access.

This meeting is being held in accordance with the March 29, 2023, LCC Memorandum from President Bobbie Jo Champion and Speaker Melissa Hortman, Guidance for commission meetings during the 2023-2024 session.